Landmark collaboration agreement expanded to include two new institutions

A landmark agreement that gives NSW university students and academics the opportunity to shape major urban transformation programs has expanded to include eight institutions.

Southern Cross University (SCU) and the University of Wollongong (UOW) today formally signed the Universities Framework Agreement and have already commenced collaboration in a number of areas.

They join Western Sydney University, the University of Newcastle, University of New South Wales, the University of Sydney, The University of Technology Sydney, and Macquarie University.

“This is a fantastic outcome, and reflects the opportunities and interest around not only our Collaborative Learning program, but also our urban transformation projects,” said UrbanGrowth NSW Chief Executive David Pitchford.

“It is particularly exciting to be able to work with universities from all across the state, as every new partner brings unique ideas and perspectives.”

Southern Cross University and the University of Wollongong will now join the UrbanGrowth NSW University Roundtable and participate in the Communities of Practice.

“The partnership enables SCU academics to contribute leading-edge research to enhance the urban transformation projects delivered by UrbanGrowth NSW,” Southern Cross University Vice Chancellor Professor Peter Lee said.

“This is an exciting opportunity for SCU scholars to generate great ideas and innovative approaches that result in the best possible urban outcomes for residents of NSW.”

“Now is a crucial time for us to get involved in urban planning and ensure growth in our cities is sustainable,” University of Wollongong Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) Professor Tim Marchant said.

"UOW is committed to meeting the needs and demands of an ever-changing society and we understand the importance of delivering world class urban transformation projects.”

Was this page helpful?